The committee questioned representatives of  NTDC regarding the contract for the World Bank (WB)-funded 765 kV Dasu Transmission Line project.

The Senate Standing Committee on Power met on Friday at Parliament House under the chairmanship of Senator Saifullah Abro. The committee questioned representatives of the National Transmission and Despatch Company (NTDC) regarding the contract for the World Bank (WB)-funded 765 kV Dasu Transmission Line project.

The 765kV Dasu Hydro Power Station construction and tendering process was explained to the committee.

The Dasu Hydro Power Station is the first of its kind, according to NTDC ND, who informed the committee that it consists of two grid stations in Mansehra and Islamabad and has a 765kV capacity. According to him, the World Bank is providing funding for the Dasu Transmission Line project, which will ultimately cost about $700 million.

Senator Saifullah Abro questioned, while reviewing the tendering process, why a contractor needed to have 12 years of experience working on 380kV projects while a consultant only needed to have five years of experience working on 765kV projects in the area. He said there was no justification for changing these requirements, and it is obvious that NTDC had ulterior motives.

In addition, he noted that GOPA Intec, a German company with no prior knowledge of 765kV transmission line projects in the area, has been given a consulting contract. NTDC was unable to answer the committee’s questions.

The committee instructed the NTDC to present verifiable proof refuting the made allegations at the following committee meeting.

Senator Haji Hidayatullah Khan brought up the problem of replacing a transformer in Peshawar as well. According to Khan, the transformer needs to be changed right away if Peshawar recovers completely. After the meeting, the committee instructed A.S., Power Division to meet with the senator and work out a compromise.

The meeting was attended by Senator Fida Muhammad, Senator Saifullah Sarwar Khan Nyazee, Senator Sana Jamali, Senator Haji Hidayatullah Khan, Senator Bahramand Khan Tangi, Senator Prince Ahmed Umer Ahmedzai, Additional Secretary Power Division Arshad Majeed, MD NTDC, Engr. Dr. Rana Abdul Jabbar Khan.