seminar 1By Zakir Shaikh

THE 28TH IEEEP All Pakistan Students Seminar was held on March 18 last and organized by IEEEP in collaboration with the Bahria University, Karachi, emerged as the event of novelty and thoughts in the field of Engineering. Cluster of talented students came from different universities across Pakistan and presented their research papers and also remained the source of inspiration for other students to portray their aptitude and intellectuals.

Continuing the practice of uphill struggle and passion to win, students of MUET again succeeded in showing their devotion towards research in engineering and science. They recognized themselves by winning all top three positions in the competition of IEEEP students seminar.

The authors and participanting students from Electronics and Telecommunication Engineering Department of MUET attended the seminar. Technical papers were received from different universities like MUET, Punjab University Lahore, SSUET, Hamdard University, Usman Institute of Technology, Pakistan Navy Engineering College and many others.

After meticulous scrutiny, the seminar authorities shortlisted only 13 research papers from all over Pakistan, among which MUET students avowed four research papers. Two papers were presented by undergraduate students of Electronic Engineering Department, one from Telecommunication Department and fourth paper was presented by postgraduate students of Electronic System Engineering. At the end of the seminar, IEEEP announced results and honoured 6 positions among these13 papers.

It is an immense pleasure and matter of great Pride and happiness that the Mehran University got all top three positions and achieved all the Gold Medals and ultimately got the IEEE winning trophy as well. It has never happened in history of this competition that all Gold Medals and all top three positions are achieved by only one university

The first position, Gold Medals, Rs. 8,000 cash prize and certificates were won by Muhammad Zakir Shaikh, Madiha Shah and Usama Zaid from the Department of Electronics Engineering .Their paper was entitled as “Design and Implementation of Cost Effective Intelligent Energy Efficient Industrial Process Control” under the supervision and guidance of Dr. BS Chowdhry, Dean Faculty of Electrical, Electronics and Computer Engineering, Engr. Yasmeen Naz and Engr. Irfan Ahmed Halepoto.

The second position, Gold Medals, Rs. 8000 cash prize and certificates were won by Pooja Rajput, Kiran Rajput and Muhammad Zakir Shaikh from the Department of Electronics Engineering. Their paper was entitled as “WSN based energy management in Smart Grids” under the supervision and guidance of Dr.BS Chowdhry, Engr. Amir and Engr. Abdul Rasheed Shaikh.

The third position, Gold Medals, Rs. 8000 cash prize and certificates were won by Sarang Shaikh, Sara Abbasi and Shaikh Asad from the Department of Telecommunication Department. Their paper was entitled as “Wireless LAN Security Survey 2013 of Hyderabad” under the supervision and guidance of Dr Faisal Kareem Shaikh and Engr. Mehran Mamonai.

Muhammad Zakir Shaikh got two Gold Medals, One for 1st position and another one for 2nd Position as he was the author of two research papers.

The event was eagerly covered by local and national print/electronic media such as the Engineering Review Magazine, the Business Recorders, the media partners, radio partners, The Nation and PC World as technical media partners. The Session Chairs of Seminar, Prof. Dr Altaf Mukati (Dean Faculty of Engineering Sciences at Bahria University Karachi) and Dr Abdul Rahman Memon (Dean at Hamdard University, Karachi) distributed the appreciation certificates among the participants of the seminar.

The winning participants along with their supervisors were invited to attend the IEEEP Multi topic Symposium held on 20th and 21st March, 2012 at PC Hotel in Karachi, where they were awarded cash prizes, gold and silver medals, shields and certificates from the chief guest Prof. Engr. Dr. M. Altaf Mukati (Dean Engineering, Bahria University) along with Engr. Obaid-ur-Rehman Khan (Chair IEEEP Karachi Center). All gold medal recipients were also honoured to present their research paper at the 28th IEEEP multi-topic International symposium. The winning participants of MUET were accompanied by the Dean FEECE Dr Bhawani Shankar Chowdhry and faculty members of Electronic Engineering Department including Madam Yasmeen Naz Panhwar, Madam Saba Baloch and Madam Sanober Farheen.

By Web Team

Technology Times Web team handles all matters relevant to website posting and management.