KUALA LUMPUR, 16 Mei -- Timbalan Perdana Menteri Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof melakukan gimik perasmian pada Majlis Pelancaran Malaysia Open Science Platform (MOSP) hari ini. Turut hadir Menteri Sains, Teknologi dan Inovasi Chang Lih Kang (dua, kiri), Timbalan Menteri Sains, Teknologi dan Inovasi Datuk Arthur Joseph Kurup (dua, kanan), Ketua Setiausaha Kementerian Sains, Teknologi dan Inovasi Datuk Dr Aminuddin Hassim (kiri) dan Presiden Akademi Sains Malaysia Datuk Dr Tengku Mohd Azzman Shariffadeen (kanan). --fotoBERNAMA (2023) HAK CIPTA TERPELIHARA

The introduction of MOSP will be a crucial pillar in the ecosystem of research and development that will create a new future for Malaysia’s research landscape.

The Open Science Platform (MOSP), which was unveiled on May 16, will improve the country’s open science ecosystem, according to Chang Lih Kang.

The Open Science Platform (MOSP) will develop the infrastructure for sharing research data and will offer open science guidelines, awareness- and capacity-building programmes, according to the Minister of Science, Technology, and Innovation. MOSP adheres to the FAIR principle, which stands for Findable, Accessible, Interoperable, and Reusable.

At the MOSP launch, Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Fadillah Yusof said, “Research projects that are conducted with public funds should be able to be accessed and reused by others to increase the return on value.”

The introduction of MOSP, the practise of open science, will be a crucial pillar in the ecosystem of research and development that will create a new future for Malaysia’s research landscape.

According to a statement from the Science, Technology, and Innovation Ministry (Mosti), MOSP is a platform for sharing raw research data that can be accessed at mosp.gov.my. Akademi Sains Malaysia (ASM) has been in charge of the pilot initiative since 2019.

ASM has strategically established the Malaysia Open Science Alliance (Mosa), which consists of Mosti, the Ministries of Higher Education, Natural Resources, Environment, and Climate Change, Health, Malaysian Administrative Modernization and Management Planning Unit (Mampu), Forest Research Institute Malaysia, and the National Institute of Health.

Universiti Malaya, Universiti Sains Malaysia, Universiti Putra Malaysia, Universiti Teknologi Malaysia, and Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia are among the five research universities that make up Mosa.

An act of Parliament created the Akademi Sains Malaysia as a statutory entity within the Malaysian government. It is governed by Malaysia’s Ministry of Energy, Science, Technology, Environment, and Climate Change and serves as the country’s highest scientific advisory body (MESTECC).

Its goal is to serve as Malaysia’s “Think Tank” for issues involving science, engineering, technology, and innovation as well as to strive for excellence in those fields. Professor Datuk Dr. Asma Ismail serves as the president at this time.