In the 24th General Assembly Meeting of the Islamic World Academy of Sciences (IAS) held during the IAS 23rd Conference in Rabat, Morocco, two Pakistani Distinguished Professors, Fellows Pakistan Academy of Sciences and Internationally known Scientists Profs. Zabta K. Shinwari and Tasawar Hayat got elected unanimously as Vice President and Secretary General respectively.

Two Pakistani Scientists Elected as Vice President and Secretary General of the Islamic World Academy of Sciences

The nascent idea of establishing the Islamic World Academy of Sciences (IAS) first appeared in the plan of action developed by the OIC Standing Committee for Scientific and Technological Cooperation (COMSTECH). IAS came into being as an independent, non-political, non-governmental, and non-profit organization of distinguished scientists dedicated to the promotion of all aspects of science and technology in the Islamic world. The IAS seeks to act as a functional platform for improving, facilitating and nurturing interaction, collaboration, networking and enhancing knowledge sharing in a bet to address pressing challenges facing socio-economic development in OIC member states. The IAS aspires to avail its capacity and capability to serve as an Islamic Brain Think Tank and to respond effectively and timely to current and futuristic needs for advancing and promoting developmental goals and objectives to realize the aspirations of the Ummah. Prof. Dr. Zabta Khan Shinwari former Vice Chancellor of Kohat University of Science & Technology; Qarshi University-Lahore.

He has been declared a Distinguished National Professor by the Higher Education Commission of Pakistan. Former Secretary General, Pakistan Academy of Sciences and Vice Chair UNESCO-COMEST. Islamic World Academy of Sciences,Government of Pakistan awarded him two civil awards (Tamgha-e-Imtiaz and Sitara-e-Imtiaz). While recognizing his efforts in Ethics in Science and Technology UNESCO awarded him, Avicenna Gold Medal, in 2015. Prof. Dr. Tasawar Hayat also a Distinguished National Professor at Quaid-i-Azam University was awarded Tamgha-e-Imtiaz, Sitara-e-Imtiaz and Hilal-e-Imtiaz by Govt. of Pakistan, He was also a winner of Prof. Abdus Salam Prize in Mathematics, TWAS Young Scientist Award, 17th Khwarizmi International Award, Govt. of Iran, COMSTECH International Award, ISESCO International Award, Distinguished Scientist of the Year Award (2010) by Pakistan Academy of Sciences, Alexander Von Humboldt Fellowship, Obada Prize, 2021 and many others. Currently, he is Secretary General of the Pakistan Academy of Sciences.

By Web Team

Technology Times Web team handles all matters relevant to website posting and management.