South Africa’s eThekwini Municipality, Durban Thursday became the first city on the African continent and one of the 12 cities in the world to develop and adopt a climate action plan.

EThekwini Mayor Mxolisi Kaunda launched the Durban Climate Action Plan, which builds on the 2015 Durban Climate Change Strategy and in accordance with the Paris Agreement to reduce global temperatures to 1.5 degrees Celsius.

According to Kaunda, the plan has nine themes of energy, transport, water and flooding, waste, biodiversity, food security, health, sea level rise and vulnerable communities.

“It implements smart electricity grids that enable bi-directional power flow and includes large renewable energy sources — ensuring that 70 percent of electricity supply by self-generated renewable energy 2050,” he said.

“Durban, as a signatory of the inclusive climate action declaration, will ensure that it eradicates poverty and increases inclusiveness in its communities. It is important to note that our plan recognises that the city cannot achieve these targets alone and will rely on establishing strong social compacts between government, labor, business and civil society,” Kaunda said.

The plan is also expected to serve as a pathway for Durban to achieve its 2050 vision for a sustainable, carbon neutral and climate resilient city.

The article is originally published at CGTN Africa.