S&T minister elected as chairperson of COMSATS committee

Federal Minister for Science and Technology Fawad Hussain Chaudhry has been elected as the chairperson of Commission on Science and Technology for Sustainable Development in the South (COMSATS) consultative committee.

S&T minister elected as chairperson of COMSATS committee

The committee development has raised the intensity of the committee in order to provide maximum support and benefaction to the programs and undertakings of an inter-governmental and international organization.

The federal minister for science and technology stated that he considers COMSATS a powerful platform of South-South and North-South cooperation in Science and Technology and Sustainable Development.

The Consultative Committee comprises of 27 national scientific focal points of COMSATS Member States. The Committee coordinates matters relating to: formulation of general policy of the Network; upgradation of Member countries institutions.

Hon. Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo took charge as the President of COMSATS  and he is the fifth President of the fourth Republic and the 13th President of the Republic of Ghana. Dr.S M Junaid Zaidi, HI, SI, the founder Rector of COMSATS University, is currently the Executive of COMSATS.

The ultimate aim of this step is to help them achieve full member status of the Network; towards the specific requirements and Improvements on science and technology at national, regional and international levels.