PM’s approval to the Task Force on IT & Telecom Sector

Prime Minister Imran Khan give approval to the formation of a 14-member task force on IT and telecom sector comprising well-known members of Pakistan’s tech sector.

PM’s approval to the Task Force on IT & Telecom Sector

Pakistan Information Technology (IT) and Telecom sector is fast becoming the intention of choice for a significant number of international IT companies.

Telecom sector of Pakistan has attracted substantial investment after deregulation. For this, ICT embracing on immense scale will create new ways of generating national wealth.

Federal IT Minister Dr Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui will be chairman of the committee which also includes Dr Atta ur Rehman, former science and technology minister, Dr Sarosh Hasmat Lodi, Vice Chancellor, NED University, Secretary Ministry of IT and Telecom, Secretary, Ministry of Federal Education and Professional Training and Engineer Jawad Salim Qureshi, Chairman Pakistan Engineering Council.

Other members are Syed Raza Ali Shah, Mudassir Hussain, Vice Admiral (Retd) Syed Arifullah Hussaini, Syed Ahmed, Chairman PASA (Pakistan Software House Association, Dr Zartash Afzal Uzmi, faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, LUMS, Shahid Mustafa, CEO Tameer Bank, Nadeem Malik, Ex-Country Manager Microsoft, Ex-IMB Executive and Jehan Ara, NESC I/O.

Furthermore, the IT entrepreneur in Pakistan, Jehan Ara tweeted in which she showed her honor in being one of the task force members of Prime minister on the Telecom and IT. She hoped to dole out and add positive contribution to the country.

Information Technology and Telecom Sector will meet point on skills development and producing quality human resource. To increase Information Technology and telecom exports, initiatives are Software Technology Park, strengthening academia‐industry‐government linkages and an Innovation Fund Programme to kick‐start development of low cost, high impact applications and systems in the public sector.