New Council of Pakistan Academy of Sciences (PAS) took over the Office on January 1, 2018, for 3 Year tenure that is from 2018 to 2020. In Pakistan, Pakistan Academy of Sciences (PAS) is a non-governmental and non-political supreme scientific body of Distinguished Scientists. The Academy has a status of the consultative and advisory given by Government of Pakistan. All problems relating to scientific development and matters of national and international importance in the field of Science are referred to the Academy.

A Council governs Pakistan Academy of Sciences. The council includes its President, 2 Vice Presidents, Secretary General, Associate Secretary General and Treasurer. The previous council has successfully completed its tenure of 3 years from 2015 to 2017. The elected Office Bearers are Prof. Dr. M. Qasim Jan (President), Prof. Dr. Kausar Abdullah Malik (Vice President), Prof. Dr. Ajmal Khan (Vice President), Prof. Dr. M. Aslam Baig (Secretary General), Prof. Dr. A. R. Shakoori (Associate Secretary General) and Prof. Dr. G. A. Miana (Treasurer).

Distinguished Scientists with outstanding contributions in Science and Technology become the Fellow. Those scientists that have contributed substantially to the development of science in Pakistan may become a Foreign Fellow. The young scientists that must be under 40 years age can join as Member of the Academy. PAS goals are to promote higher studies and research in pure and applied sciences in Pakistan. The Academy also spread scientific knowledge and establish and maintain association and relations between the Pakistani scientists and the international Scientists. The Academy will arrange meetings and unions of Scientists, and between Pakistani scientific activities and activities of Scientists with other countries.