The New Council of Pakistan Academy of Sciences took over the Office on January 1, 2018 for 3 Year tenure (2018-2020). Pakistan Academy of Sciences (PAS) is a non-governmental and non-political supreme scientific body of Distinguished Scientists in the country.

Pakistan Academy of Sciences

The Government of Pakistan has given the consultative and advisory status to the Academy “on all problems relating to the development of scientific efforts in the country”, and “generally on such matters of national and international importance in the field of Science as may be referred to the Academy”.

Pakistan Academy of Sciences is governed by a Council that includes its President, two Vice Presidents, Secretary General, Associate Secretary General and Treasurer. The previous council has completed the tenure of 3 years (2015-2017) successfully.

The newly elected Office Bearers are Prof. Dr. M. Qasim Jan (President), Prof. Dr. Kausar Abdullah Malik (Vice President), Prof. Dr. Ajmal Khan (Vice President), Prof. Dr. M. Aslam Baig (Secretary General), Prof. Dr. A. R. Shakoori (Associate Secretary General) and Prof. Dr. G. A. Miana (Treasurer).

Distinguished Scientists who have made outstanding contributions in Science and Technology become the Fellow. Scientists who have substantially contributed for the development of science in Pakistan may become a Foreign Fellow whereas, young scientists (under 40 years age) as Member of the Academy.

The goals of PAS are to promote higher studies and research on pure and applied sciences in Pakistan and to disseminate scientific knowledge and to establish and maintain association and relations between the Pakistani scientists and the international Scientists, meetings and unions of Scientists, and between Pakistani scientific activities and the activities of Scientists in other countries.