It is generally recognized that any progressive country, which aspires to occupy a befitting place in the comity of nations, encourages the establishment of a supreme scientific organization, usually designated as the “Academy of Sciences” devoted to the promotion of science and its applications for the general welfare of humanity. While these organizations may not carry out actual researches, they do provide a forum for the advancement of scientific research, popularization of science, motivation of scientists and technologists, as well as encourage and promote studies in new areas of SandT.

As utmost importance is attached to the membership of such an academy, only scientists of the highest merit, who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of scientific knowledge, are elected its Fellows. The Academy is regarded by the public and the government as a repository of the highest scientific talent available in the country, and is generally supported and consulted in all matters relating to scientific education, research and development.

The Pakistan Academy of Sciences was inaugurated by the then Prime Minister of Pakistan, Khwaja Nazimuddin, on 16th February 1953.

The Academy is a non-governmental and non-political supreme scientific body of distinguished scientists in the country. The Government of Pakistan has given the consultative and advisory status to the Academy “on all problems relating to the development of scientific efforts in the country”, and “generally on such matters of national and international importance in the field of science as may be referred to the Academy”. The affairs of the Academy are regulated by its Charter and Bye-Laws approved by the Fellows.

The Academy is governed by a Council that includes its President, two Vice Presidents, Secretary General, Associate Secretary General and Treasurer.

  1. The annual meeting of the Pakistan Academy of Sciences, Islamabad, was held on Thursday, December 4, 2014 in the Auditorium of the Academy. The General Body approved the following new Council of the Academy for the period 2015-2017. The fellows elected Dr. Anwar Nasim as its president and Dr. Zabta Khan Shinwari as its secretary general for next three years. Other office bearers are Vice Presidents Dr. Khalid Mehmood Khan and Dr. M. Qaiser; Associate Secretary General: Dr. Muhamad Iqbal; Treasurer: Dr. M. D. Shami; Secretary Karachi Chapter: Dr. Rumina Hasan; Secretary Lahore Chapter Dr. Ikramul Haq; Secretary Peshawar Chapter: Dr. Fazal Ahmad Khalid while three Members Dr. M Perwaiz Iqbal; Dr. M. Ashraf and Dr. N.M.Butt. The General Body also inducted Dr. Amin Badshah; Dr. Darakhshan J haleem and Dr. Abdul Rashid as new Fellows. While the General Body elected the following new Fellows in 2014: Dr. Khan Bahadar Marwat (Vice Chanellor upper Dir); Dr. Shahid Mansoor (Director, NIBGE); Dr. Rasul Jan (VC, Peshawar University) and Dr. Haq Nawaz Bhatti (Dean, Agri. University, Faisalabad.

By Web Team

Technology Times Web team handles all matters relevant to website posting and management.