STAFF REPORT ISB: Robian12 had the participation of 40 robots out of which 34 were indigenous to the Department of Electrical Engineering, COMSATS Institute of Information Technology (CIIT), Islamabad Campus. The Winners of the Robian12 was team BURRAQ with team members M. Bilal Aslam, Hamid Mehmood, Atif Nawaz, and Nauman Ahmed. Rs. 20000 was awarded as prize money.
The Electrical Engineering department of the CIIT, Islamabad Campus since fall of 2011, has been conducting a bi-annual robotics competition – ROBIAN. Recently, the 2nd COMSATS Robotics Competition, Robian12 was conducted on 23rd and 24th of May 2012.
Chief Guest of the Closing Ceremony was Brig. Dr. Younas Javaid, Dean College of Electrical and Mechanical Engineering, NUST and Member Pakistan Engineering Council. Judges of the 2 day event were Dr. Haroon-ur-Rasheed, Head of Electrical Engineering Department, Pakistan Institute of Enginnering and Applied Sciences (PIEAS) and Dr. Yassar Ayaz, Head of the Robotics and Artificial Intelligence Department, SMME, NUST.
ROBIAN, is a competitive and challenging contest between autonomous robots that aims to push students to take an out-of-the-box approach and construct magnificent pieces of engineering innovation. ROBIAN aspires to instill creativity and originality amongst students so that they can be motivated to bring the best out of themselves.
The Robian competition was started when a graduate of CASE university joined as a lab engineer at COMSATS and gave the advice of giving a line tracking robot as an assignment to the students of Controls Systems course. This was supported by the other faculty members and so in September of 2011, the students of the controls systems course started to work for their Unmanned Ground Vehicles (UGVs), which were assigned to traverse a set path on a specially designed arena. This first event attracted a total of teams, 21 from within the department while the others from the University of Gujrat, International Islamic University and NUST EME.
The 1st Runner-up of Robian12 was team Alphatron with team members Mahboob Alam, Muzzamil Behzad, Usman Malik, and Umair Hussain, who won Rs. 15000 as prize money.
The 2nd Runner-up of Robian12 was a tie between two teams that both had traversed the path in an exact time of 14.8 seconds. The team VELOCE GUERRAIRO with team members Faizan Shoaib, Muhammad Umar, Waqas Gillani, and Adil Mahmood, and team REAL STEEL with team members Ahtasham Saeed, Fahd Khalil, Fahd Aziz, and Talal Ali. Both the teams shared the amount of Rs. 10,000.
The Best Engineering Design award went to team UBOT with group members Osama Baig, and Umar Abbas, they got Rs 5000 award.
The team from International Islamic University (IIU) won the Special Category Award and received Rs. 5,000.

By Web Team

Technology Times Web team handles all matters relevant to website posting and management.